Our History

history pic2

Inaugural Ball, September 29, 2011 - Board of Directors.

In 1970, Dr. Lauranne Sams, a black nurse, attended the American Nurses Association Convention. She observed that the organization did not address the needs of black nurses, nor the health care needs of minorities. Therefore, she envisioned the importance of organizing an organization to meet those needs. Through her strong convictions and diligent work, encompassed by the help of other black nurses with the same mission, the National Black Nurses Association Incorporated was organized in 1971.

In May of 2001, Lola Denise Jefferson organized the Fort Bend County Black Nurses Association, Inc. The officers and board members were as follows:

Lola Denise Jefferson, RNC, BSN

Diane Barber, APRN, BC, AOCN
Vice President

Renee Chandler, RN, OCN

Loretha Maxey, RN, BSN
Corresponding Secretary

Vanessa Auguillard, RN, BSN

Ardis Bush, RN, BSN, MS

Eddie Gradney, RN, BSN

Bridget Scott Lanes, RNC

Christy Almore, RN, BSN, MA

Elizabeth Phashe, RN, BSN

Board Members
Karolyn Artis, RN, BSN

Mary Holt Ashley, PhD, RN

Arvis Davis, LVN

Beryl Grady, RN, BSN

Alene Jackson, MSN, RN

Daphne John-Smith, RN, BSN, MS

Ethel Ivory, SN

Josie Rather, ANP, BC, MSN

Carolyn Reades, RN

Sherry Taylor, RN, BSN

Norma Faye Young, RN, BSN

Beulah Hadrick, RNC, MSN
Special Events Coordinator

Betty Davis-Lewis, EdD., RN, FAAN

history pic4

Founder Lola Denise Jefferson
& Founding Board Member
Sherry K. Taylor

history pic3

FBCBNA Inaugural Ball 2001 Ice Sculpture

history pic5
FBCBNA Inaugural Ball 2001 Cake

history pic1
Board of Directors being sworn in by Judge Clouser at the Inaugural Ball 2001.