photogallerythumbs presidents2012Fort Bend County Black Nurses Association
Eleventh Annual President’s Scholarship and Awards Ball

By Octavia E. Sherman, AD, RN

The Fort Bend County Black Nurses Association, Inc. (FBCBNA) held the Eleventh Annual President’s Scholarship and Awards Ball, at the Sheraton Suites Hotel, on Saturday April 21, 2012. Mrs. Alma A. Allen, State Representative-House District 131, was the Mistress of Ceremony. The purpose of the Ball was to award nursing scholarships and celebrate the outstanding achievements of FBCBNA, during the previous year.

The welcome was given by Ms. Lola Denise Jefferson, FBCBNA Founder and Executive Director. Ms. Cynthia Hickman, FBCBNA Chaplain, gave the invocation. Four $1,000 nursing scholarships were awarded to the following students: Ms. Tina Battle, Ms. Danielle Davis, Ms. Britney Leffall and Ms. Jacqueline Wilmore.

In the category “Outstanding Support,” the honorees were: Mr. Wendell Champion, Houston Metro Urology, Mr. Earnest Gibson, Riverside Hospital, and Mr. Wilbert McGowan. The “Nurse of the Year” was Mrs. Janice Sanders; “Board Member of the Year” Mrs. Ethelene Wilmore; “Volunteer of the Year” Dr. Ahia Shabaaz; “Recruiter of the Year” Mrs. Bessie Trammell; and “Lifetime Achievement Award” was presented to Ms. Jo Ann Goodie.

Three Golf Classic Awards were presented as follows: 1st Place – Mrs. Myrtle Morrow, 2nd Place – Ms. Pearl Boone, and 3rd Place – Ms. Charlie Terrell. Other awards were given for outstanding accomplishment, chairpersons, co-chairs, board members, recruitment and perfect attendance. Our Madame President Yvonne Olusi was presented with a very special gift. Congratulations to all of the nurses for your dedicated work and wonderful accomplishments! We look forward to seeing you next year!


State Rep. Alma Allen with Golf Classic 1st Place – Myrtle Morrow and 3rd Place – Charlie Terrell